The Real Meaning Of Christmas

Now, I’m not a Christian, so I don’t celebrate the birth of Christ. I’m not a religious person at all, I’m an Atheist. I spent years and years trying to believe and failing, so I hedged my bets and called myself Agnostic, then I thought, I have to come out of the closet and declare myself what I know I am. I am an Atheist.

I’ve had conversations with people who think that if you don’t have God (whatever that means to you) in your life then you can have no moral standards. I have to say that my moral beliefs have been with me pretty much through out my life. I also have to admit that I haven’t always managed to maintain my own standards and I have spent some considerable time beating myself up because of it.

Eventually I learned to forgive myself in the same way as I would have forgiven someone else. It took a lot of doing, and there are one or two things I still struggle with.

So for me Christmas is not a religious experience. Neither is it a consumerist experience. I never have had much money, and I never have bought into buying people’s love. I don’t want anyone whose love can be bought, and anyway I don’t believe “real” love can be bought.

My pleasure comes from seeing my friends and family enjoying themselves, I certainly don’t enjoy stress and rows. So for me the Yuletide celebrations are about people being happy and relaxed. I’m very fortunate in not having to cook a Christmas dinner, so I’m spared that stress. I’m very fortunate in having a family that has realistic expectations both of presents and behaviour.

There is no one I have to spend time with who is an belligerent drunk. No one who expects the world to revolve around them and then gets stroppy because it doesn’t. No one who thinks they should have a better present than…

You get the picture. I’m a very lucky person. I love Christmas (whatever name you choose to give it). It’s warm and cosy and pleasant, just a bit too much food, a little too much drink, quite a lot of laughter, and lots of love.

What more could you ask for for Christmas?

2 thoughts on “The Real Meaning Of Christmas

  1. Christmas controversy has been blown way out of proportion. I thank God for the season and even the commercialization of Christmas. It brings Christians like me and Atheists like you to celebrate together along with family and friends with love as the universal foundation. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

